FAQ

Read our anwers to the most frequently asked questions to the following topics: 

Understanding how an organization uses its workspace is fundamental to creating an effective and efficient working environment. Thanks to Locatee Analytics we were able to obtain granular insights into our space utilization and take workspace decisions with great confidence; simply based on our existing IT infrastructure!

Biogen Logo
Nicole Stutz, Office & Facility Management, Biogen International GmbH

One of our main responsibilities as a professional IT service provider for large local and international organisations is to provide a network infrastructure that allows our customers’ business to prosper. Providing additional value with Locatee without impacting the primary function of the existing LAN and WLAN is a Win-Win situation for all stakeholders.

Reto Schilt-Lu, COO of Netcloud

GENERAL

I work in corporate real estate and facilities management. How can Locatee add value to the strategic and operational decisions of our company?

Having worked with various different partners and customers, Locatee understands the challenges corporate real estate and facilities managers are facing. With specific regards to the company’s needs, Locatee provides the relevant information such as workspace utilisation in order to make data-driven strategic and operational decisions regarding the optimisation of a real estate portfolio. The information is based on objective data and is available in real-time. The solution allows to identify consolidation potential throughout a global portfolio, plan and realise savings potential and at the same time enhance and personalise employees' workspace experience. In our experience, customers are able to save more than 20% of their real estate costs by increasing space utilisation. Contact our sales team to discuss the value of Locatee for your business and get more information about our software solution.

There are other workspace utilisation measurement methods available. How do I know which is the right solution for my company?

Currently, five main methods are used in order to measure workspace utilisation: manual occupancy counting, access badge analysis, sensors, IT-login analysis, and software solutions. Which method adds the most value to your company depends on your use cases and objectives. Locatee is a software-only solution, which provides real-time insights based on an existing IT infrastructure. Our solution combines the advantages of various different methods and circumvents installing additional hardware making it highly scalable and cost-efficient. Read more about the five methods and their pros and cons here.

TECHNOLOGY

How are the utilisation rates and sharing ratios measured based on our existing IT infrastructure?

Locatee collects data from an existing Wi-Fi and LAN infrastructure to locate devices within buildings. The real-time indoor positioning system uses signal strength and Locatee’s machine learning algorithms, turning the existing IT infrastructure into an indoor positioning system similar to a GPS.

Can Locatee use the data of an existing IT infrastructure without having negative impacts on its performance?

Locatee reads the existing data in regular intervals - typically every few minutes - and solely needs read-only access. This process does not have a negative impact on the performance of the IT infrastructure. Read more about the benefits of our success stories here.

How accurate are your measurements especially when using my Wi-Fi infrastructure?

The accuracy depends on the specific use cases and current IT infrastructure. Are you looking for a general overview of the utilisation rate of your worldwide portfolio or do you want to drill down on actual sharing ratios of single workplaces? An example: on desk-group level and standard IT infrastructure, a 95% accuracy can be achieved if Wi-Fi and LAN measurements are combined. Contact our sales team to discuss your use cases today.

How do you measure occupancy if our employees are using multiple devices?

Locatee can integrate different device categories depending on the use cases (e.g. company issued devices such as notebooks or bring-your-own devices such as smart phones or tablets). If two or more devices of the same employee are located at a workplace, Locatee will recognise it as a single occupied workplace. Locatee also recognises if employees leave a device at a workplace and take another to a meeting room. In this case, the workplace and the meeting room are both marked as occupied.

PRIVACY

Is our employees’ privacy guaranteed with Locatee?

Locatee assesses the utilisation of office buildings and does not allow to track individual employees. The utilisation of a global building portfolio can be analysed, different space and workplace types as well as the adaption rate of activity-based workplaces of different teams. But it is not possible to identify individual employees. Locatee has been designed with privacy at its core. All data is strictly anonymised. No Personally Identifiable Information (PII) is stored at any time. Find more information about on privacy on our factsheet.

How are privacy regulations managed in the Mobile App?

The Mobile App is based on an opt-in/opt-out feature, which means employees are able to decide at any time, whether they want their location to be displayed or not. The Mobile App fosters collaboration among teams, while personalised data is only available in real-time and all historical data is anonymised. Find more information about privacy on our factsheet.

Safeguarding our employees’ privacy has top priority for us. Thankfully for Locatee as well. Although we have access to valuable insights, Locatee Analytics ensures maximum data protection.

Swiss Post
Carine Bommeli, Innovation and Projects, Swiss Post Real Estate

One of our main responsibilities as a professional IT service provider for large local and international organisations is to provide a network infrastructure that allows our customers’ business to prosper. Providing additional value with Locatee without impacting the primary function of the existing LAN and WLAN is a Win-Win situation for all stakeholders.

Reto Schilt-Lu, COO of Netcloud

IMPLEMENTATION

Is it possible to integrate Locatee into other systems?

Locatee is built with a strong focus on use cases to ensure long-lasting benefits. Hence, Locatee can be integrated with various technologies and systems to fully leverage the existing infrastructure and information that is already collected. This not only applies to the data sources which can be fed into Locatee, but also to the enhanced and aggregated data, which can be exported to scale the smart building solution across a whole real estate portfolio. An open API allows to fully exploit the existing information. Typical integrations are CAFM, IWMS, BMS or HVAC systems.

How is Locatee typically deployed?

Locatee can either be deployed on premise or in the cloud. Many of our customers choose to deploy the solution on premise due to IT security and privacy reasons. Thanks to strong IT security principles and data privacy measures, the solution complies with privacy regulations such as the GDPR.

I am not sure if my existing Wi-Fi Infrastructure is sufficient for accurate measurements. How many Wi-Fi access points do I need and where do they have to be positioned?

The ideal Wi-Fi infrastructure depends on specific use cases and the layout of the office building. We recommend consulting your network provider regarding the network setup prior to a rollout. If required, we can give general recommendations on how to ideally place the access point in order to determine the accuracy of measurement. Talk to our experts to evaluate your existing setup.

How can I roll out Locatee across a global portfolio?

Our company’s goal is to create the best possible outcome for customers in an effective and highly scalable way. Thanks to our focus on reusing existing data sources, the solution is easy to roll out and maintain across an entire real-estate footprint. Installation of additional hardware is not required. At the moment, Locatee is rolled out in more than 20 companies such as Swiss Re, Zurich Insurance, Swiss Post and many more across six continents. In order to achieve these goals Locatee works together with partners such as Cisco or Regent, but also with existing partners of customers such as Netcloud. Contact our sales team to discuss the steps you need to take to deploy Locatee across your global portfolio.

Deploying technology in a large organisation and in cooperation between Corporate Real Estate and IT can be time consuming and complex. However, Locatee was easy to rollout due to an assisted onboarding service and went very smoothly. Immediately after the successful implementation, insights were available.

David Morley, Head of Workplace Transformation at Zurich Insurance

PRICING

I would like to deploy Locatee. What does it cost?

Locatee is available for yearly subscriptions. The price model is based on the total amount of square meters and also depends on the use cases. Due to the scalability of Locatee, the solution can be rolled out across a worldwide portfolio of buildings. Therefore, Locatee applies a volume pricing model, which means with an increasing total amount of square meters, the price decreases. The yearly subscription fee includes all patches, updates, and new features of the subscribed plan. The initial setup fee depends on the size of the portfolio and data sources you choose to integrate. Contact our sales team to discuss your specific surface area (number of sq m) and use cases to get more information on pricing.

 

Did you find the answers you have been looking for? If not, please do not hesitate to contact us via our contact form.

We use cookies to ensure a pleasant experience for you. By continuing browsing, you agree to the use of cookies.

Allgemein

Ich arbeite im Corporate Real Estate und Facility Management. Inwiefern unterstützt uns Locatee Analytics bei unseren strategischen und operativen Entscheidungen?

Dank der Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Partnern und Kunden ist Locatee in der Lage, die Herausforderungen des Corporate Real Estate und Facility Managements einzuschätzen. Mit einem Fokus auf den spezifischen Bedürfnissen jedes spezifischen Unternehmens, stellt Locatee Analytics die relevanten Informationen zur Verfügung, um strategische wie operative Entscheidungen betreffend Real Estate Portfolio durch objektive Daten zu stützen. Die Auswertung ist datenbasiert und in Echtzeit abrufbar. Die Software ermöglicht die Identifikation von Konsolidierungs- und Sparpotenzial innerhalb eines globalen Portfolios wie auch die Personalisierung und Optimierung des Arbeitsumfelds der Mitarbeitenden. Erfahrungsgemäss können bis zu 20% der Real Estate Kosten gesenkt werden, indem die Flächennutzung verbessert wird. Kontaktieren Sie unser Sales Team um herauszufinden, wie Locatee Analytics Ihrem Unternehmen von Nutzen sein kann.

Es gibt verschiedene Methoden zur Arbeitsplatzoptimierung. Wie kann ich sicherstellen, die optimale Lösung für mein Unternehmen zu wählen?

Zurzeit sind fünf Methoden führend bei der Messung der Arbeitsplatzauslastung: Manuelle Zählstudien, Auswertung der Badge-Zugangsdaten, Sensoren, Analyse von IT-Logins und Softwarelösungen. Welche Lösung am besten zu Ihrem Unternehmen passt, hängt von den jeweiligen Anwendungen und Zielen ab. Locatee Analytics ist eine rein softwarebasierte Lösung, welche Einblicke in Echtzeit-Daten ermöglicht, wobei hierfür einzig die bestehende IT-Infrastruktur benötigt wird. Die Installation von zusätzlicher Hardware ist nicht nötig, weshalb Locatee Analytics hoch skalierbar und kosteneffizient ist. Erfahren Sie mehr über die unterschiedlichen Methoden, wie auch deren spezifische Vor- und Nachteile.

Technologie

Wie werden die Nutzungszyklen und Sharing Ratios anhand der existierenden IT-Infrastruktur gemessen?

Locatee Analytics sammelt Daten von einer bestehenden Wi-Fi- und LAN-Infrastruktur, um Geräte innerhalb eines Gebäudes zu lokalisieren. Unter Verwendung von Locatee’s Maschine Learning Algorithmen werden die Daten der IT-Infrastruktur in Echtzeit in Lokalisierungsinformationen umgewandelt, vergleichbar zu einem Indoor GPS System. 

Wie kann Locatee Analytics Daten einer existierenden IT-Infrastruktur auswerten, ohne dabei deren Leistung zu beeinträchtigen?

Locatee Analytics liest die Daten in regelmässigen Intervallen aus, typischerweise alle paar Minuten, und benötigt hierzu einzig einen schreibgeschützten Zugang. Dieser Prozess übt keinen negativen Einfluss auf die Leistungsfähigkeit der IT-Infrastruktur aus. Lesen Sie mehr hierzu in den Success Stories unserer Kunden.

Wie hoch ist die Genauigkeit der Messungen, insbesondere die der Wi-Fi-Auswertung?

Die Genauigkeit ist abhängig von den spezifischen Anwendungen und der aktuellen IT-Infrastruktur. Benötigen Sie einen generellen Überblick über die Nutzung Ihres globalen Portfolios oder eine Analyse der aktuellen Sharing Ratios auf Arbeitsplatzebene? Beispielsweise kann bei einer standardgemässen IT-Infrastruktur eine Messgenauigkeit von 95% auf Arbeitsplatzebene erreicht werden, wenn Wi-Fi und LAN in Kombination ausgewertet werden. Treten Sie in Kontakt mit unserem Sales Team, um Ihre Anwendungen zu besprechen.

Wie wird die Belegung gemessen, wenn Mitarbeitende mehr als ein Gerät verwenden?

Locatee Analytics ist in der Lage, verschiedene Gerätetypen je nach Anwendungsfall in die Messungen zu inkludieren (bspw. Firmennotebook oder persönliche Geräte wie Smartphones und Tablets). Unabhängig davon, ob nur ein Gerät oder mehrere an einem Arbeitsplatz lokalisiert werden, markiert Locatee Analytics ihn als besetzt. Ebenfalls wird erkannt, wenn Mitarbeitende ein Gerät am Arbeitsplatz lassen (z.B. Tablet), ein anderes aber in ein Sitzungszimmer nehmen. In diesem Fall werden beide Arbeitsplätze als besetzt ausgewiesen.

Datenschutz

Wie wird der Datenschutz der Mitarbeitenden von Locatee Analytics sichergestellt?

Locatee Analytics wertet einzig die Nutzung von Gebäuden aus und erlaubt dabei nicht, individuelle Mitarbeitende zurückzuverfolgen. Dabei kann die Auslastung eines globalen Portfolios, die von unterschiedlichen Raum- bzw. Arbeitsplatztypen oder auch jene von verschiedenen Teams analysiert werden. Die Identifizierung von einzelnen Mitarbeitenden ist nicht möglich. Datenschutz ist Kernbestandteil von Locatee Analytics, weshalb alle Daten strikt anonymisiert werden. Zu keiner Zeit werden personenbezogene Daten (PII) gespeichert. Mehr zum Thema Datenschutz finden Sie in unserem Factsheet.

Wie werden die Datenschutzrichtlinien in der Mobile App gehandhabt?

Für die Nutzung der Mobile App ist eine persönliche Anmeldung basierend auf einer Opt-in/Opt-out-Funktion notwendig. Mitarbeitende entscheiden eigenständig, ob sie ihren Standort Dritten zugänglich machen wollen oder nicht. Die Mobile App ist darauf ausgelegt, die Zusammenarbeit von Teams zu stärken, wobei persönliche Daten einzig in Echtzeit verfügbar sind, historische Daten hingegen gänzlich anonymisiert werden. Lesen Sie mehr dazu in unserem Factsheet.

Der Datenschutz unserer Mitarbeitenden hat für uns oberste Priorität. Dies ist bei Locatee nicht anders. Wir erhalten wertvolle Einblicke, zugleich garantiert Locatee Analytics jederzeit maximale IT-Sicherheit.

Swiss Post
Carine Bommeli, Innovation and Projects, Swiss Ist Real Estate

Implementierung

Kann Locatee Analytics in andere Systeme integriert werden?

Locatee Analytics wurde anwendungsorientiert entwickelt, um einen Langzeitnutzen zu garantieren. Daher wurde sichergestellt, dass Locatee Analytics in verschiedene Technologien und Systeme integriert werden kann, um die bestehende Infrastruktur bzw. vorhandene Datenquellen bestmöglich zu ergänzen und weiterzuverwenden. Dies gilt nicht nur für die Daten, die Sie in Locatee Analytics einlesen können, sondern auch für aggregierte Daten, welche exportiert werden können, um die Smart Building-Lösung innerhalb eines gesamten Immobilienportfolios erfolgreich einzusetzen. Eine offene API erlaubt die bestmögliche Verwertung bereits existierender Daten. Typische Integrationsbeispiele sind CAFM, IWMS, GLT oder HLKS.

Wie wird Locatee Analytics installiert?

Locatee Analytics kann in einer eigenen IT-Umgebung oder in einer Cloud installiert werden. Die meisten unserer Kunden entscheiden sich aufgrund von IT-Sicherheit und Datenschutz für eine lokale Installation. Dank starker IT-Sicherheitsprinzipien und Datenschutzmassnahmen erfüllt Locatee Analytics Datenschutzbestimmungen wie die der DSGVO.

Welchen Standards muss die existierende Wi-Fi-Infrastruktur entsprechen, um akkurate Messungen zu erhalten? Wie viele Access Points werden benötigt und wo müssen diese positioniert sein?

Die ideale Wi-Fi-Infrastruktur hängt von den Anwendungen und dem bestehenden Bürolayout ab. Vor einem Rollout empfehlen wir, gemeinsam mit Ihrem Netzwerkanbieter das Netzwerksetup zu besprechen. Bei Bedarf geben wir allgemeine Empfehlungen, wo Access Points positioniert werden können, um eine bestmögliche Messgenauigkeit zu erreichen. Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit unseren Experten auf, um Ihr bestehendes Netzwerk durchzugehen.

Wie kann Locatee Analytics über ein globales Portfolio ausgerollt werden?

Das Ziel von Locatee Analytics ist es, allen Kunden das bestmögliche Ergebnis zu effizienten und hochskalierbaren Konditionen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Dadurch, dass ausschliesslich bereits bestehende Datenquellen genutzt werden, ist die Lösung auch in globalen Portfolios effizient ausroll- und handhabbar. Die Installation von zusätzlicher Hardware ist nicht nötig. Locatee zählt zurzeit mehr als 20 Unternehmen auf sechs Kontinenten zu seinen Kunden, u.a. Swiss Re, Zürich Versicherungen oder die Schweizerische Post. Um den Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, arbeitet Locatee mit verschiedenen Partnern zusammen wie Cisco und Regent, darüber hinaus auch mit bestehenden Partnern unserer Kunden wie bspw. Netcloud. Kontaktieren Sie unser Sales Team, um gemeinsam herauszufinden, welche Schritte es benötigt, um Locatee Analytics für Ihr gesamtes globales Portfolio erfolgreich einzusetzen.

Preiskalkulation

Was kostet Locatee Analytics?

Locatee Analytics wird in Jahreslizenzen angeboten, welche sich anhand der zu messenden Quadratmeter wie auch der Anwendungen, welche Sie mit Locatee Analytics abdecken wollen, berechnet. Die Skalierbarkeit der Lösung erlaubt die Anwendung auf ein globales Gebäudeportfolio, weshalb ein Volumen-Preis-Modell für die Kalkulation angewendet wird. Dieses garantiert einen niedrigeren Quadratmeterpreis, je mehr Fläche hinzukommt. In der jährlichen Servicegebühr sind jeweils alle Anpassungen, Updates und neuen Features enthalten. Die einmalige Setupgebühr wird durch die Grösse Ihres Portfolios und durch die Datenquellen, welche integriert werden sollen, bestimmt. Kontaktieren Sie unser Sales Team, um Ihre spezifischen Flächenverhältnisse zu diskutieren oder um weitere Informationen zur Preiskalkulation zu erhalten.

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihren Website-Besuch für Sie so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Mit der Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden.